Liam Gallagher – As You Were (Deluxe Edition) (2017)

Liam Gallagher’s eagerly anticipated debut album ‘As You Were’ will be released on October 6th on Warner Bros. Records.

After igniting the writing process with the heavy duty soul-rock of ‘Bold’, ‘As You Were’ was recorded in two locations. Greg Kurstin performed all of the instruments on the four songs that he produced (‘Wall Of Glass’, ‘Paper Crown’, ‘Come Back To Me’ and the psychedelic whoosh of ‘It Doesn’t Have To Be That Way’), while Dan Grech-Marguerat produced the remainder of the album at Snap! Studios in London.

The result is exactly what you would have hoped a Liam Gallagher solo album would sound like: the passion for the classic 60s/70s influence that he’s always had has been updated for the here and now.

“I didn’t want to be reinventing anything or going off on a space jazz odyssey,” says Liam. “It’s the Lennon ‘Cold Turkey’ vibe, The Stones, the classics. But done my way, now.”

One of the most striking aspects of ‘As You Were’ is that all the songs have a purpose. There’s no flab, nothing to cut. They all feel directed at something or someone, setting the record straight or getting his side of the story over, be that the swinging, Bo Diddley-like ‘Greedy Soul’, which incinerates someone who’s the “ungrateful dead” or the mega-ballad ‘For What It’s Worth’ which Liam wrote with Simon Aldred of Cherry Ghost and serves up the album’s biggest chorus.

The album’s cover features an iconic new portrait of Liam which was taken by the influential photographer, fashion designer and creative director Hedi Slimane.

The Deluxe Edition features 3 additional tracks. 

Artist: Liam Gallagher
Title: As You Were (Deluxe Edition)
Year Of Release: 2017
Label: Warner Bros
Genre: Indie Rock, Britpop
Quality: Mp3, VBR V0 kbps
Total Time: 56:28
Total Size: 114 MB
1. Wall Of Glass 3:43
2. Bold 3:59
3. Greedy Soul 3:35
4. Paper Crown 3:28
5. For What It’s Worth 4:11
6. When I’m In Need 4:18
7. You Better Run 3:24
8. I Get By 3:09
9. Chinatown 3:20
10. Come Back To Me 3:21
11. Universal Gleam 4:07
12. I’ve All I Need 4:09
13. Doesn’t Have To Be That Way (Bonus Track) 3:58
14. All My People / All Mankind (Bonus Track) 3:55
15. I Never Wanna Be Like You (Bonus Track) 3:51

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *